Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for the Pyr Newsletter
Your privacy is important to us. We will NOT share your email address with anyone!

The Grave Theif

Book Three of the Twilight Reign

Tom Lloyd

498 pp • ISBN: 978-1-59102-780-5
Trade Paperback (6" x 9") • $17
September 2009
Cover Illustration: © Todd Lockwood

For Isak, the time for heartless decisions and ruthless action has come if he is to save the land from its oppressors...

Scree has been wiped from the face of the Land in a brutal demonstration of intent. While those responsible scatter to work on the next step in their plan, the stakes are raised—all the way to the heavens—as the Gods themselves enter the fray. Returning home to a nation divided by fanaticism, Lord Isak is haunted both by the consequences of his actions in Scree and by visions of his own impending death. As the full extent of Azaer's schemes become clearer, he realises prophecy and zealotry must play their part in his battle-plans if there is to be any chance of surviving the coming years. As a white-eye, Isak has had to embrace the darker parts of his own soul, but now the savage religious fervour sweeping his nation must also be accepted and turned to purpose, in the name of survival. With the battle lines vague and allegiances uncertain, the time for heartless decisions and ruthless action has come. Two figures oppose Isak and his allies: the greatest warrior in history, who dreams of empire and Godhood, and a newborn baby whose dreams have no limit.


"Tom Lloyd brings hope for the future of fantasy literature."

"[Tom Lloyd] echoes writers such as Moorcock and Gemmel."

"From the outset, the Twilight Reign series has demonstrated a depth of
involvement and a sense of epic scale... always fascinating as events unfold, gradually, around a large cast of characters whose rich personalities blend with
the diverse cultural backgrounds the author has created. It's obvious Lloyd
has a vision of exactly where his power-hungry gods and kings are going,
and it's proving to be an extraordinary journey."


Tom Lloyd

Tom Lloyd (Oxford, UK) is the author of five other novels in the Twilight Reign series: The Stormcaller (Book One), The Twilight Herald (Book Two), The Grave Thief (Book Three), The Ragged Man (Book Four) and The Dusk Watchman (Book Five). He was born in 1979 and spent most of his childhood believing his mother was a witch—a white witch. He followed his degree in politics and international relations with a series of jobs in publishing, and currently works for an independent publisher in London.

Visit him online at

Author photo:
©C. J. Lloyd-Williams